EBC Announces the Winners of the 2016 EBEE Awards

Each year, the Environmental Business Council of New England (EBC) recognizes companies, organizations and individuals for outstanding environmental/energy accomplishments in the promotion of a sustainable, clean environment through the EBEE Awards Celebration. These awards were established by the EBC to encourage companies, government agencies, non-profit organizations, and environmental professionals to serve as models for others to emulate and, in doing so, further the mission and objectives of the EBC.

Congratulations to this year’s winners!

The EBC Environmental – Energy Merit Award for Leadership by a Non-Profit Organization

Award Description: In Recognition of Outstanding Longtime Pioneering Leadership in the Development of the Food Waste Recovery Marketplace

Award Recipient: Center for Eco-Technology

The EBC Stephen G. Lewis Merit Award for Service to the Environmental – Energy Industry

Award Description: In Recognition of Meritorious Service, Leadership and Dedication to Improving the Quality of the Environment and to the Development of the Environmental – Energy Industry in New England

Award Recipient: Michael J. Scipione, Outgoing Chair, EBC Board of Directors; President, Weston & Sampson

The EBC John A. S. McGlennon Environmental – Energy Award for Corporate Leadership

Award Description: In Recognition of Outstanding Corporate Commitment to Sustainability, Carbon Neutrality, and Clean Energy Technologies

Award Recipient: Biogen

The EBC Nicholas Humber Environmental-Energy Award for Outstanding Collaboration

Award Description: In Recognition of the Outstanding Public-Private Collaboration Resulting in the Comprehensive Remediation of Soil, Sediment and Groundwater at the Former Medfield State Hospital Site and the Major Restoration of Wetlands on the Charles River

Award Project: Medfield Charles River Gateway Project

Award Recipients:

  • Massachusetts Division of Capital Asset Management and Maintenance
  • Town of Medfield
  • Charles River Watershed Association
  • Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection
  • Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation
  • State Hospital Environmental Review Committee
  • Weston & Sampson
  • Charter Contracting Company, LLC
  • The Trustees of Reservations
  • The Garden Continuum
  • Spectra Energy

The EBC Paul G. Keough Environmental – Energy Award for Government Service

Award Description: In Recognition of Outstanding Leadership and Dedication to Government Service and for Significant Contribution to the Quality of the Environment in Rhode Island

Award Recipient: Janet Coit, Director, Department of Environmental Management, State of Rhode Island