Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

EBC Leadership Series: MassDEP Commissioner Suuberg, the Headquarters Leadership Team, and the EOEEA Regional Climate Program

January 8, 2020 @ 8:30 am - 1:30 pm EST

This event has reached capacity. Registration is closed. Please note: walk-in registration will not be accepted at the door.

This EBC program is the fifth and final program in an annual EBC program series of five meetings with the leadership teams of the four regional offices and the headquarters of the Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection (MassDEP). These programs will provide EBC members, municipal officials, and other attendees from throughout Massachusetts with the opportunity to hear first from Commissioner Suuberg of the DEP and then from the leadership of the MassDEP Headquarters Office.

This fifth meeting will feature the leadership of the MassDEP Headquarters Office. Commissioner Suuberg and each of the deputy and assistant commissioners will focus on the hot issues and challenges of their respective areas of responsibility.

Municipal Vulnerability Preparedness (MVP) Program Regional Coordinators. This year these regional programs will include the newly designated EOEEA MVP Regional Coordinators. Each of the six coordinators will be in charge of working with the municipalities in their region on all stages of the MVP planning and action grant processes – providing technical expertise; connecting municipal staff to necessary resources, people, and tools; as well as setting up shared learning opportunities.

Plan to attend and learn first-hand about the five most critical environmental issues for Commissioner Suuberg and each of the MassDEP deputy and assistant commissioners. Each will also discuss their respective top environmental priorities for the MassDEP Bureau.

Thank you to our Collaborating Organizations:

EBC Program Series with MassDEP Leadership:

General Continuing Education Certificates are awarded by the EBC for this program (3.5 training contact hours). Please select this option during registration if you wish to receive a certificate.

Final Agenda – DEP Headquarters Program – Division Directors
Final Presentations- DEP Headquarters Program – Division Directors

Thank you to our Silver Sponsor


Speaker Agenda:

Keynote Address: Review of MassDEP Programs and Priorities

  • Martin Suuberg, Commissioner, Department of Environmental Protection, Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs, Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Update from the MassDEP Headquarters Leadership Team

  • Stephanie Cooper, Deputy Commissioner, Policy and Planning
  • Gary Moran, Deputy Commissioner, Operations & Env. Compliance
  • Ann Lowery, Assistant Commissioner, Bureau of Planning & Evaluation
  • Kathy Baskin, Assistant Commissioner, Bureau of Water Resources
  • Paul Locke, Assistant Commissioner, Bureau of Waste Site Cleanup
  • Christine Kirby, Assistant Commissioner, Bureau of Air and Waste

Introducing the Municipal Vulnerability Preparedness Program

  • Carolyn Meklenburg, Regional Coordinator for Greater Boston, Municipal Vulnerability Preparedness Program, Massachusetts Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs

Following the DEP Presentations will be a Panel Discussion moderated by David Young of CDM Smith.

Attendee List

Kathy Abbott, Boston Harbor Now, President and CEO
Stephen Anderson, Anderson & Kreiger LLP, Partner
David Austin, AECOM, Project Manager
Andrea Braga, Jacobs, Principal
Kathleen Brill, Foley Hoag LLP, Attorney
Lisa Brothers, Nitsch Engineering, Chairman and CEO
Dorothy Buckoski, Epsilon Associates, Inc., Senior Consultant
Joseph Callanan, National Grid, Director Environmental Sustainability, Compliance and Licensing & Permitting
Susan Chapnick, Town of Arlington / NEH Conservation Commissioner
Ralph Child, Mintz, Member
Arthur Cunningham, Capaccio Environmental Engineering, Inc, Director of Engineering
Maria de la Motte, Holland & Knight
Kate Dilawari, Haley & Aldrich, Inc., Program Manager
Timothy Dupuis, CDM Smith, Senior Vice President
Talia Fox, VHB, Environmental Planner
Nancy Hammett, Mass Rivers Alliance, Board Member
Pete Harley, National Grid, Environmental Manager
Allen Kratz, Resilience Works, LLC, Principal
Heather Miller, Charles River Watershed Association, General Counsel & Policy Director
Lauren Miller, CDM Smith, Principal
Stacy Minihane, Beals and Thomas, Inc., Senior Associate
Michael Nelson, CDM Smith, Client Service Leader
Michael Penzo, Penzo Consulting, Licensed Site Professional
Gabby Queenan, Massachusetts Rivers Alliance, Policy Director
Steven Rothstein, Citizens Energy Corp, Consultant
Michael Scipione, Weston & Sampson, CEO
John Shea, Mackie Shea Durning, Shareholder
Peter Spawn
Aaron Toffler, Boston Harbor Now
Ed Van Doren, CDM Smith, Principal Environmental Engineer
Bob Varney, Normandeau Associates, President
Julie Wormser, Mystic River Watershed Association, Deputy Director
David Young, CDM Smith, Vice President


January 8, 2020
8:30 am - 1:30 pm EST


Environmental Business Council of New England
375 Harvard Street, Suite 2
Brookline, MA 02446 United States
+ Google Map
(617) 505-1818
View Venue Website


January 8, 2020
8:30 am - 1:30 pm EST


Environmental Business Council of New England
375 Harvard Street, Suite 2
Brookline, MA 02446 United States
+ Google Map
(617) 505-1818
View Venue Website